News and Events of the Bering Strait School District
Thursday February 22nd 2018


Students Participate in High Profile Iditarod Coverage


By Damon Hargraves, Student Broadcasting Team Facilitator, District Office

Another season of “Iditamania” is almost over as the last musher approaches the burled arch in Nome. Now that things are settling down, I have a little time to reflect back on these past few incredible weeks of BSSD’s Iditaprojet. For those of you who don’t know, Iditaproject is a BSSD created educational VTC program freely available to anyone who signs up.

Over the past few years we have seen an incredible growth of participants. This year we received close to 300 registrants, and we had many more online viewers. During the three days of March 16th through the 19th we broadcast a total of 64 hours. This broadcast time includes twice daily video conferences, live updates, a webcam feed of the Unalakleet checkpoint, and a webcam feed of front street in Nome.


During these three days we accumulated a total of more than 14,000 viewers, which snowballed into about 6000 hours of total viewing time. Our broadcast reached the top 20, which made company with CNN and Fox News, accrued 8000 posts to the Mushing Forum, wrote an article about our project, and the popular website Iditablog interviewed me about our project.

All of this positive coverage and participation is due to the hard work of the largest Student Broadcasting Team (SBT) yet, which produced live coverage, interviews, and news from the Iditarod start in Anchorage, the Unalakleet checkpoint, Koyuk checkpoint, White Mountain checkpoint, and the Nome finish.

Thank you to the following SBT students (in random order) for your extra hard work:

  • Lori Larsen
  • Mia Concilus
  • Mildred Nanouk
  • Korbin Storms
  • Josh Dewey
  • Brice Hardy
  • AJ Andrews
  • Iris Billingsley
  • Jacob Okbaok
  • Henry Ahgupuk
  • Bert Sockpick
  • Samuel McElwee
  • Asa Bergamaschi
  • Brandi Oquilluk
  • Allison Topkok
  • Jill Freytag
  • Brittany Sarren
  • Kirstian Haugen
  • Deyonne Milligrock
  • Corrina Odizoff
  • Zona Fitka

Also, thank you to chaperones Michelle Foster, Kyle Schneider, Lacey Byrd, and Katie Bryson.

Visit the Iditaproject website for more information on this project and how to participate next year