News and Events of the Bering Strait School District
Sunday February 18th 2018



2013 Inclusive Practice Award


By Christie Reinhardt

Program Coordinator
Governor’s Council on Disabilities and Special Education

The Governor’s Council on Disabilities & Special Education established the Inclusive Practice Award to recognize outstanding educators who work to ensure students with disabilities have the opportunity for an inclusive education with their peers as part of the general education curriculum. Nominations are made by parents, students and educators. The award is given each February at the Alaska Statewide Special Education Conference (ASSEC). This year’s award was presentedTuesday February 5, 2013 at a luncheon at the Hilton Hotel in Anchorage. It was attended by special educators, administrators, parents and advocates from all over the state.


The 2013 winner of the Inclusive Practice Award is Earl Jeffrey who has taught History, Shop, Scuba Outdoor Ed, PE and Senior Seminar at the Jr High/Senior High School in Hydaburg, Alaska for over 20 years. The Governor’s Council on Disabilities and Special Education would like to commend the other 2013 Inclusive Practice Award nominees:

  • ·         Bowman Elementary, Anchorage
  • ·         Daniel Brown,  Huffman Elementary, Anchorage
  • ·         Christine Foster, Mercedes Brady, Antonia Penayah, Steven Diaz,  John Apangalook High School & Hugo T. Apatiki Elementary School , Gambell AK
  • ·         Ron Harper, Watershed Charter Fairbanks
  • ·         Amanda Miller, Fireweed Academy, Homer
  • ·         Paula Niedermeyer, Bristol Bay Borough School District, Naknek and King Salmon
  • ·         Marti Rookala, Eagle’s View Elementary, Unalaska
  • ·         Jeanne See, Inlet View, Anchorage
  • ·         Tina Filman, Zita Spann, Kristin Sisneros, Soldotna Elementary, Soldotna

If you know any of these great educators please be sure and congratulate them on their amazing job of educating children of all different kinds of abilities!